Thoughts and Prayers

I went to Mass – first time since the COVID-19 pandemic hit Jamaica and I had some apprehension, not a fear of crowds or “the virus” to be honest, but rather I had gotten used to the convenience of live-streams. So many things are different: I have in a mask in Church, there’s no sacramental Holy Water, the pews are separated and marked for us to be separate also. I was forced to pause and consider- why did I even come? Isn’t God everywhere. Truth is I yearned to be with the community of believers. It was like an invitation to visit a friend I had been chatting with on the phone, but hadn’t seen or hugged for a long time.

Wearing a mask took new meaning for me in the House of God. Covering my expressions, making me think I was hidden and yet anyone looking on could see and sense what was going on in my heart. Taking off the mask to receive the Holy Eucharist, then quickly recovering my face, as though I needed to protect this gift, the precious food, this source of life. I discovered I was equally free with or without the mask in place; for no mask could hide my heart from my God.

The dry stony stoup was a stark symbol of my own spiritual font – an unwatered garden in need of running waters to soften the crispness. Sitting in the Church, I felt the cool streams of peaceful waters restoring my parched soul through gentle silence and in the soft a capella of song. Why did I stay away?

Six-feet apart! The markers on the pews, the doubling of benches declared that we MUST BE SEPARATED. And yet I joined my heat to every heart with me in that Church. My soul grieved with every soul that has lost a loved one all over this planet. My spirit rejoiced with every child who has been blessed with the love of good parents, my spirit sang with everyone – here in earth and those in Heaven – who praised God for the gift of my Father’s life. I was surrounded I was lifted up!!! I was NOT alone.

Although I walk in the valley of the shadow of Death I will fear no evil for You are with me 🙏🏽 Your rod and Your staff comfort me. (King David. Psalm 23)

Leave a comment